Intervention Goals and Goal Setting

I’m so grateful to @jreulbach and her blog  for resurrecting #SundayFunday.   My position as a 6-8 math interventionist (a relatively new position) has prevented me from blogging regularly but I hope the weekly prompts will get me to write more often. My responsibilities continue to evolve, but my main projects are providing grades 6-8 homeroom math support, co-teaching four classes, and overseeing our Title I after school math program.

Our homeroom intervention program is a work in progress. It is NOT a formal class, but the identified students (below 30% percentile MAP and teacher recommendation) are scheduled to attend math support twice weekly. The two previous years, support time was dedicated to re-teaching and supporting the daily classroom instruction. This year I will also be targeting specific skills for intervention.

One goal I have for myself is to spend time identifying quality intervention programs that best suit our students. One resource I’ll be looking at more closely is this document from Hanover Research. I’m also quite fond of Marilyn Burns Math Reasoning Inventory .  I’m not sure if my district will be purchasing a program or if we will be creating our own. Either way the work is cut out for me. If you have a favorite or have struggled with a particular set of resources please add your thoughts in the comments.

Along those lines, one goal I have for my homeroom support students is for them to set their own goals and monitor their progress. I created this google spreadsheet for them to complete.

Below is a screenshot. The student would fill in the blue and green and the graph would self generate.

Goal setting

Students can use the continuous learner characteristics as the basis for the goal setting plan.

If the electronic version becomes too cumbersome I guess I’ll go back to paper.

I’m interested in learning how goal setting has worked in your classroom as well so please chime in!

 

3 thoughts on “Intervention Goals and Goal Setting

  1. Appreciate the link to the Hanover Report. We are refining our intervention program, and are interested in a number of resources listed in the document. Will be sharing this with the team tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

