I’ve never been out in the hall before! I feel so SMART!

My SMART goal to raise self efficacy was to implement four tasks in the first quarter. I only had two. My standard students experienced the Money Munchers and Variety Show tasks. My pre-algebra class had Molly’s Locker Combo task and the Boomerang task. While I didn’t reach my goal, I am making a wee bit of progress with one student’s self efficacy. I have to admit, it’s not me. Her teacher last year had her in math lab nearly every day.

On Wednesday, she was elated that she was part of a group that was allowed to work in the hall on an extension activity while I retaught a concept. It was the first time she ever experienced such a thing. “I’ve never been out in the hall before! I feel so smart!” Since the start of the year she’s only had to reassess one time. Attending math lab has paid off.

The extra time we devote to our students may or may not pay off this year, but it will in the future.

5 thoughts on “I’ve never been out in the hall before! I feel so SMART!

  1. Thanks for your reminder. Putting in grades for this marking period, I see that almost all the kids I had last year in math lab learned to try, try, try. One of the little strugglers from last year has a B: she tried everything, and redid any work she had difficulty with. Not bad for an ELL student with very little English. I am so proud of her.

    1. In our building the math teachers are not assigned a homeroom. Instead it is used as a time for students to come in for help and extra practice. I can pull students in for reteaching or they can ask their homeroom teacher for a pass to come see me. We’ve only been doing it a couple of years and we’ve should have been doing it all along. Thanks for asking. I should have made it clear.

    2. Instead of being assigned a homeroom, the math teachers use that time to help students. Students can drop in, or I can pull students in if they are struggling. We’ve only been doing this for a couple of years, but we’ve should have been doing this all along! Thanks for asking. I should have clarified.

Leave a Reply

