Days 42 and 43: Careless mistakes with decimals; exponent reflection

Observations on the careless mistakes students make, plus how I have been careless too.

180 days of math post-its

We’re heading into decimals as integers. I want to make sure the students know place value so I gave the standard classes a pre-test on adding and subtracting positive decimals. Before the pre-test, I talked about attending to precision and I specifically asked the students to rewrite the problem vertically to avoid careless mistakes.

Students shared their work on the whiteboard and we talked about each problem.  Of course I had a few who did not take my suggestion to heart. I didn’t have my smartphone handy to capture the actual student work, but below is a recreation of a mistake one student made with the first problem.

decimal mistake

This was a great mistake because it generated a conversation about place value, but I was soooo disappointed the student didn’t rewrite the problem to solve. Perhaps the problem was too easy so they didn’t feel it was necessary to rewrite it…

View original post 314 more words

Leave a Reply

