Students’ graphing stories as graphed by MAP

Fall MAP scores, Measures of Academic Progress, are going home on Monday. I plan to briefly interview each student about their personal graphing story so they better understand their progress.  While I can easily disguise my students’ identity, I’m using the image below as talking points for this post. The image is from here.

Example graph.
Sample graph.

I plan to ask the student, “How does your personal graphing story describe your growth as a learner?” My intention is NOT to put the student on the spot, however I do want them to reflect, to recognize we are in partnership, and to help them create an action plan. The above example shows a student whose gap is widening. If this student is receiving special services I won’t talk to him/her about the widening gap, but I might ask them to look at their fall to fall growth from 4th to 5th grade and compare it to their fall to fall growth from 5th to 6th grade.

MAP graph2
Below each student’s graph is a breakdown of performance by strand.

I’ll then have them look at their breakdown of strengths and challenges. I’ll double check their understanding of the Geometry and Statistics and Probability strands then I’ll ask them if they know the meaning of Algebraic Thinking and Real & Complex Number Systems. I’m betting most won’t be able to explain so I’ll need to present them with some examples.

Addressing their weaknesses when we’re not in that unit of study is where I could use your help. Would setting aside one day a week to work on the strands be an effective use of time?

I’d appreciate your help.

2 thoughts on “Students’ graphing stories as graphed by MAP

  1. I’d talk about how MAP scores are not individually exact, so you look for the general trend, and that this mountain rage is expected. I’d talk about how the student is right about the norm group average.
    I’d be overjoyed at these scores. My 10th graders have an average MAP of 224. I’d say, good job!!

    1. Thanks for your input. You’re right about putting the MAP scores in perspective, as a general trend, as you say. I was looking at it in narrower terms–comparing one year’s growth vs. the following year and that’s not the way I should look at it. If we were widgets it would be a nice upward slope; but we’re human beings subject to learning at different rates, encountering what life throws at us, all sorts of wrenches being thrown into the mix.

      Our district’s students are considered higher performing so theoretically we’re supposed to see more growth than the national average.

      Thanks for reminding me to take the long view.

Leave a Reply

