Reading in math update

I’m pleased Mathmistakes.org thought my area of walls problem was worth posting and I’m enjoying reading the comments. I submitted the mistake after writing about it here.  Presenting this word problem to my 6th grade advanced math students was my aha moment where I learned that kids need to do much more reading, plus apply reading strategies, in math. The problem wasn’t an exercise in manual multiplication of decimals. It was intended for students to apply area in a different context.

After I wrote about the shaded rectangles task I did some additional reflection and I updated that post to include specific reading strategies when giving this task. In my original post I inferred. The update is more direct.

I would love to hear from teachers who teach reading in math. What are your success stories?

Leave a Reply

